Blog Tour || History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

history is all you left meHistory Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera
Publication Date: January 17th 2017 by Soho Teen
Source: ARC for Blog Tour
Rating: ★★★★★
Amazon / Book Depository

Synopsis

When Griffin’s first love and ex-boyfriend, Theo, dies in a drowning accident, his universe implodes. Even though Theo had moved to California for college and started seeing Jackson, Griffin never doubted Theo would come back to him when the time was right. But now, the future he’s been imagining for himself has gone far off course.

To make things worse, the only person who truly understands his heartache is Jackson. But no matter how much they open up to each other, Griffin’s downward spiral continues. He’s losing himself in his obsessive compulsions and destructive choices, and the secrets he’s been keeping are tearing him apart.

If Griffin is ever to rebuild his future, he must first confront his history, every last heartbreaking piece in the puzzle of his life.

I received a review copy of this book as part of a Blog Tour. No compensation in any form was received for the review of this book.

This is my first Adam Silvera book, albeit having a lot of friends that have already read and enjoyed his first book, More Happy Than Not. Good thing though, that I have my copy of MHTN at home so I could read it whenever I want to AKA soon.

Every single praise about this book is true. It’s brutally honest and basically one big emotional sucker punch to the gut. Upon reading the first chapters of the book, I already made the conclusion that I’ll love this book to pieces.

I really enjoyed reading through Griffin’s voice. The story is very character-driven and it was easy to follow suit. What’s interesting about Griffin is he’s actually an unreliable narrator and I didn’t see that coming. It was also eye-opening to read about his OCD impulses, and this was very new to me because the usual stereotype about people having OCD was them being a neat freak. This book is also an #ownvoices novel and it made me realize how hard it is for people to deal with OCD.

“I’ll never understand how time can make a moment feel as close as yesterday and as far as years.”

Each character in the story leaves an impact to the reader. I didn’t have any expectations with Jackson, I knew he would surprise me but Wade surprised me more. I guess he’s one of the most loyal characters I’ve ever encountered in a book.

Another thing I loved about the book is the non-linear narrative. It’s told in two POVs and timelines, both Griffin’s but the present timeline refers to the reader as Theo.

I loved the conflicting and raw emotions from the characters and how they filled the book. It’s definitely one of the most honest and raw novels I’ve read so far. I fell in love with Adam Silvera’s writing the moment I finished the first chapter. His writing style is so genuine, poignant, and full of passion.

“People are complicated puzzles, always trying to piece together a complete picture, but sometimes we get it wrong and sometimes we’re left unfinished. Sometimes that’s for the best. Some pieces can’t be forced into a puzzle, or at least they shouldn’t be, because they won’t make sense.”

Overall, this novel is an exceptional tale of grief, loss, friendship, and most of all love. It’s beautifully crafted and well balanced in terms of light and heavy scenes. I’m definitely looking forward to reading more of Adam Silvera’s works, but for now, let me settle with More Happy Than Not.

A World Without You by Beth Revis (ARC)

a world without youA World Without You by Beth Revis
Publication Date: July 19th 2016 by Razorbill Books
Source: ARC from Publisher
Rating★★★
Amazon / Book Depository / Goodreads

Synopsis

What if finding her means losing himself?

Seventeen-year-old Bo has always had delusions that he can travel through time. When he was ten, Bo claimed to have witnessed the Titanic hit an iceberg, and at fifteen, he found himself on a Civil War battlefield, horrified by the bodies surrounding him. So when his worried parents send him to a school for troubled youth, Bo assumes he knows the truth: that he’s actually attending Berkshire Academy, a school for kids who, like Bo, have “superpowers.”

At Berkshire, Bo falls in love with Sofía, a quiet girl with a tragic past and the superpower of invisibility. Soíia helps Bo open up in a way he never has before. In turn, Bo provides comfort to Sofía, who lost her mother and two sisters at a very young age.

But even the strength of their love isn’t enough to help Sofia escape her deep depression. After she commits suicide, Bo is convinced that she’s not actually dead. He believes that she’s stuck somewhere in time—that he somehow left her in the past, and that now it’s his job to save her. And as Bo becomes more and more determined to save Sofía, he must decide whether to face his demons head-on or succumb to a psychosis that will let him be with the girl he loves.

I received an ARC of this book from the publisher in exchange of a review. No compensation in any form was received for the review of this book.

This book is one of my most anticipated releases for 2016. Having been read Beth Revis’ recent novel, The Body Electric, which I really enjoyed, I wanted to check out her other works as well.

This book reminded me of Neal Shusterman’s Challenger Deep. Honestly, I did expect a lot from this book, but it started really slow for me. I had trouble relating to Bo and I felt like things were just going on and on and I wasn’t getting any of it. Amidst that trouble, I pushed through and I’m glad that the story became better, especially during the time where Bo realized the truth about him.

“You never know all of a person; you only know them in a specific moment of time.”

It’s also a great thing that the book was told in dual POVs (Bo and his sister Phoebe), at first I really didn’t get why it’s supposed to be dual, but then as the story progressed, I’ve realized that one of the narrators was actually an unrealiable one, which was really interesting. Bo and Phoebe doesn’t exactly have a perfect sibling relationship but I’m really happy to see their relationship develop and get better.

The portrayal of mental health and mental illnesses in the book is spot on. Clearly, the author knows what she’s doing. It’s also a poignant and touching story of love, friendship, family, and more importantly self-discovery and acceptance.

Overall, it was a good read. I had trouble getting into it because of the slow start, to the point that I almost decided to not finish it but I’m glad I kept on reading because it got better the message of the book is really important.

inah

Fans of the Impossible Life by Kate Scelsa

fans of the impossible lifeTitle: Fans of the Impossible Life
Author: Kate Scelsa
Publication Date: September 8th 2015 by Balzer + Bray
Rating: ★★★
Amazon // Book Depository // Goodreads

Synopsis

A captivating and profound debut novel about complicated love and the friendships that have the power to transform you forever, perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

Mira is starting over at Saint Francis Prep. She promised her parents she would at least try to pretend that she could act like a functioning human this time, not a girl who can’t get out of bed for days on end, who only feels awake when she’s with Sebby.

Jeremy is the painfully shy art nerd at Saint Francis who’s been in self-imposed isolation after an incident that ruined his last year of school. When he sees Sebby for the first time across the school lawn, it’s as if he’s been expecting this blond, lanky boy with mischief glinting in his eye.

Sebby, Mira’s gay best friend, is a boy who seems to carry sunlight around with him. Even as life in his foster home starts to take its toll, Sebby and Mira together craft a world of magic rituals and impromptu road trips, designed to fix the broken parts of their lives.

As Jeremy finds himself drawn into Sebby and Mira’s world, he begins to understand the secrets that they hide in order to protect themselves, to keep each other safe from those who don’t understand their quest to live for the impossible.

First of all, I want to say that I wasn’t actually in the mood when I was reading this book. In case you all don’t know, I’m a moody reader. I tend to put down books because of two reasons: either I’m not in the mood for it, or I have completely lost interest in the book. However, I’m glad to say I didn’t put this book down. Not even once, did I think of reading another book. I knew this book has a great potential, and I’m glad that despite the fact that this book didn’t totally rock my world, I still enjoyed reading it.

I loved the variety in the narrations. The three main characters had different POV narrations which made the book stand out and emphasize the different voices of the characters. Jeremy was written in the first person, Sebby in second, and Mira in third.

“May we live impossibly,” Sebby said when he opened his eyes. “Against all odds. May people look at us and wonder how such jewels can sparkle in the sad desert of the world. May we live the impossible life.”

Jeremy was a bit antisocial and soft-spoken. He’s an artist who became friends with Mira, the nice but funny and sometimes snarky one, and Sebby, the ever funny and charming queer, when they joined the Art Club that he organized with the aid of his teacher, who came off as a pretty cool one, Peter. From there, Jeremy, Mira and Sebby became inseparable. I loved the complexities of their characters, and the way that they balance each other out. It brought a different kind of depth in their friendship.

I loved that this book is very LGBT and sex positive. It also dealt with issues such as identity crisis, substance abuse, depression, bullying, and a lot of other relevant social issues. It makes me really happy when issues like these are tackled in YA books because it raises people’s awareness. Moreover, it raises awareness of young minds.

I was a bit bored in the first parts but I managed to get through and finish the book because of the message it left. It also made me a little confused with some of the situations and scenes in the book. Nonetheless, for me this book is a gem. Even though I gave this book an average rating, this book was a one-of-a-kind coming of age novel  and I do believe that other people would be able to appreciate this more than I did.

inahsign