Blog Tour || History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

history is all you left meHistory Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera
Publication Date: January 17th 2017 by Soho Teen
Source: ARC for Blog Tour
Rating: ★★★★★
Amazon / Book Depository

Synopsis

When Griffin’s first love and ex-boyfriend, Theo, dies in a drowning accident, his universe implodes. Even though Theo had moved to California for college and started seeing Jackson, Griffin never doubted Theo would come back to him when the time was right. But now, the future he’s been imagining for himself has gone far off course.

To make things worse, the only person who truly understands his heartache is Jackson. But no matter how much they open up to each other, Griffin’s downward spiral continues. He’s losing himself in his obsessive compulsions and destructive choices, and the secrets he’s been keeping are tearing him apart.

If Griffin is ever to rebuild his future, he must first confront his history, every last heartbreaking piece in the puzzle of his life.

I received a review copy of this book as part of a Blog Tour. No compensation in any form was received for the review of this book.

This is my first Adam Silvera book, albeit having a lot of friends that have already read and enjoyed his first book, More Happy Than Not. Good thing though, that I have my copy of MHTN at home so I could read it whenever I want to AKA soon.

Every single praise about this book is true. It’s brutally honest and basically one big emotional sucker punch to the gut. Upon reading the first chapters of the book, I already made the conclusion that I’ll love this book to pieces.

I really enjoyed reading through Griffin’s voice. The story is very character-driven and it was easy to follow suit. What’s interesting about Griffin is he’s actually an unreliable narrator and I didn’t see that coming. It was also eye-opening to read about his OCD impulses, and this was very new to me because the usual stereotype about people having OCD was them being a neat freak. This book is also an #ownvoices novel and it made me realize how hard it is for people to deal with OCD.

“I’ll never understand how time can make a moment feel as close as yesterday and as far as years.”

Each character in the story leaves an impact to the reader. I didn’t have any expectations with Jackson, I knew he would surprise me but Wade surprised me more. I guess he’s one of the most loyal characters I’ve ever encountered in a book.

Another thing I loved about the book is the non-linear narrative. It’s told in two POVs and timelines, both Griffin’s but the present timeline refers to the reader as Theo.

I loved the conflicting and raw emotions from the characters and how they filled the book. It’s definitely one of the most honest and raw novels I’ve read so far. I fell in love with Adam Silvera’s writing the moment I finished the first chapter. His writing style is so genuine, poignant, and full of passion.

“People are complicated puzzles, always trying to piece together a complete picture, but sometimes we get it wrong and sometimes we’re left unfinished. Sometimes that’s for the best. Some pieces can’t be forced into a puzzle, or at least they shouldn’t be, because they won’t make sense.”

Overall, this novel is an exceptional tale of grief, loss, friendship, and most of all love. It’s beautifully crafted and well balanced in terms of light and heavy scenes. I’m definitely looking forward to reading more of Adam Silvera’s works, but for now, let me settle with More Happy Than Not.

ARC Review + Playlist: Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyck

arrowsbanner

9780553510447_4a3d6

Title: Arrows
Author: Melissa Gorzelanczyck
Publication Date: January 26th 2016 by Delacorte Press
Rating:★★★★
Amazon / Book Depository / Goodreads

Synopsis

A modern cupid story set in present-day Wisconsin combining the fantastical elements of Greek mythology with the contemporary drama of MTV’s Teen Mom.

People don’t understand love. If they did, they’d get why dance prodigy Karma Clark just can’t say goodbye to her boyfriend, Danny. No matter what he says or does or how he hurts her, she can’t stay angry with him . . . and can’t stop loving him. But there’s a reason why Karma is helpless to break things off: she’s been shot with a love arrow.

Aaryn, son of Cupid, was supposed to shoot both Karma andDanny but found out too late that the other arrow in his pack was useless. And with that, Karma’s life changed forever. One pregnancy confirmed. One ballet scholarship lost. And dream after dream tossed to the wind.

A clueless Karma doesn’t know that her toxic relationship is Aaryn’s fault . . . but he’s going to get a chance to make things right. He’s here to convince Danny to man up and be there for Karma. But what if this god from Mount Olympus finds himself falling in love with a beautiful dancer from Wisconsin who can never love him in return?

This fast-paced debut novel explores the internal & external conflicts of a girl who finds herself inexplicably drawn to a boy who seemingly doesn’t reciprocate her feelings, touching on the issues of love, sex and responsibility, with a heroine struggling to control her destiny–perfect for fans of Katie McGarry’s novels and MTV’s 16 and Pregnant.

I received an ARC of this book from the publisher in exchange of a review. No compensation in any form was received for the review of this book.

My love for Greek Mythology was one of the main reasons why I picked up this book. The synopsis was really catchy and interesting. Upon reading the first page, I knew I wasn’t going to be able to put this down. Next thing I knew, an hour has passed and I’m around halfway through!

I haven’t read any Katie McGarry books nor watched MTV’s 16 and Pregnant, but I felt an instant connection to the book.

This tells the story of Aaryn, Eros’ son, who was tasked to be a matchmaker for Karma and Danny, but with the last arrow ending up useless, he changed Karma’s life.

That’s the thing about guilt. You don’t want your secrets exposed, but the guilt keeps you up at night. The guilt changes who you are and throws you into a dark corner.

Aaryn seemed pretty easy-going and I felt connected to his character quickly. Well, as the God of Love’s son, him being sweet and easy to love is pretty much given. Karma is a talented ballerina, who got pregnant and had a complicated relationship with Danny, who’s the father of her child. Karma is a strong lady. I think it’s a very innate trait of being a mother. She’s really admirable and sweet too. Although, I get annoyed sometimes by her constant tolerance with Danny being a shithead, I do understand that a major part of that was because of Aaryn’s arrow.

The chemistry between Aaryn and Karma was built up really well. The romance, as predictable as it may seem, wasn’t forced and it was fun to see them get attracted to each other because it wasn’t insta-love. Actually, I’m good with them either being friends or lovers. It was a very balanced chemistry but I do admit Aaryn got me swooning most of the time because the guy is really charming. it must have been the genes.

“Sometimes we all need to start over and connect with who we really are.”

The other characters were okay. I loved Peyton, although I do admit she kind of felt like a side-character. I didn’t have issues with some of the characters being flat as I didn’t really mind them, except Peyton I guess since she’s easy to love.

The pacing of the story, and the writing were excellent. I got hooked from the first page and I really had a great time reading this book. It’s balanced with drama, romance, and humor. I guess it’s perfect as a Valentine’s read! I definitely recommend this book! Great debut and I’m really looking forward to the author’s upcoming books!

PLAYLIST

ABOUT MELISSA GORZELANCZYCK

melissa gorzelanczyckMelissa Gorzelanczyk is a former magazine editor and columnist who believes love is everything. She is a proud member of the SCBWI, The Sweet Sixteens and the Class of 2k16. She lives in Green Bay, Wisconsin, with her husband and family.

Author Links: Website / Goodreads / Twitter / Facebook

FOLLOW THE REST OF THE TOUR HERE.

 

GIVEAWAY

a Rafflecopter giveawayinahsign