Stacking the Shelves #30

I’ve been really busy for months that I often forget to post my book hauls here. The last one I did was back in February so this is going to be a massive one.

LOCAL BOOKS HAULED:

Dare To Love by C.P. Santi
Keep The Faith by Ana Tejano
Playing Autumn by Mina V. Esguerra
Sounds Like Summer by Six Delos Reyes
If The Dress Fits by Carla de Guzman
Smaller and Smaller Circles by F.H. Batacan
Summer Crush by Six Delos Reyes, Tara Frejas, and Jay E. Tria

ARCS HAULED:

The Secret History of Us by Jessi Kirby
This Is How It Happened by Paula Stokes
Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy
Like Water by Rebecca Podos
Optimists Die First by Susin Nielsen
Windfall by Jennifer E. Smith
The One of Us Is Lying by Karen McManus
Antisocial by Jillian Blake
Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley
Welcome Home by Eric Smith
What To Say Next by Julie Buxbaum
The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord
When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

FROM GIVEAWAYS:

Blacksouls by Nicole Castroman
The Inconceivable Life of Quinn by Marianna Baer
The Creeping by Alexandra Sirowy
A Psalm for Lost Girls by Katie Bayerl

BOOKS BOUGHT:

History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera
I Was Here by Gayle Forman
Pivot Point by Kasie West
Split Second by Kasie West

I have also received some signed bookmarks from Kara Thomas and Jay Kristoff (Thanks Kate! <3)

Now that I’m finally finishing college (just waiting for graduation this month!!) I can finally have more time to read so I do hope I could squeeze these in before I go on a job hunt haha!

As usual, big thanks to HarperCollins International, Abrams Books, Penguin Random House International, Simon Pulse, Bloomsbury, #romanceclass authors, Katie and Marianna, JM of Book Freak Revelations, Kate of The Bookaholic Blurbs and Jay Kristoff, Kara Thomas, Nicole Castroman, and Rebecca Podos!

Which books did you get this week? Have you read any of these books? Let me know!

ARC Review || By Your Side by Kasie West

By Your Side by Kasie West
Publication Date: January 31st 2017 by HarperTeen
Source: ARC From Publisher via Edelweiss
Rating★★★★★
Amazon / Book Depository

Synopsis

In this irresistible story, Kasie West explores the timeless question of what to do when you fall for the person you least expect. Witty and romantic, this paperback original from a fan favorite is perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson.

When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.

Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?

I received an ARC of this book from the Publisher. No compensation in any form was received for the review of this book.

I will love everything Kasie West will write. So far, I’ve read three books from her, including this one and I’m really looking forward to reading her other books!

Kasie West writes the best fluffy romances, we all know that and I dove into this book expecting the same level of fluff I got from The Distance Between Us and On The Fence. I didn’t get that here, but I was met with more relevant and important issues. Of course, the romance game was still on track but this book is more serious compared her other books and I love this kind of step-up.

Autumn has been struggling with anxiety and her friends have no idea about it. I don’t blame her, most of my friends does not know about mine either. I really connected with Autumn’s character. She’s so genuine and kind. Dax came off as a little obtuse and crass at first, but his character really grew on me and I really appreciated both characters’ development. Their romance was slow-burn and I loved how it played all throughout the book, plus points for their undeniable chemistry.

“Possibilities don’t hurt as much as realities. Possibilities are exciting and endless. Realities are final.”

I also enjoyed the relationship of Autumn and her family, especially with her brother Owen. The friendships in this book are strong too.

I really loved the whole “being stuck in the library with a cute guy” concept and this book immediately rose to the top of my TBR once I heard about the premise. I also appreciated that this book talked about mental illness and an absent family. See, while Autumn had a healthy relationship with her family, Dax had none. And I wish he had more closure with his family.

Most books deal with this issues too, but Kasie West’s writing made me really enjoy the whole experience because I was crying and laughing all the same throughout the book. There’s just something beautiful about her writing style that’s truly effective.

I just really enjoyed the fact that the conflicts were resolved properly and they weren’t too dragging. This book was crafted perfectly and I really recommend it!

On The Fence by Kasie West

on the fenceTitle: On The Fence
Author: Kasie West
Publication Date: July 1st 2014 by HarperTeen
Source: Bought
Rating: ★★★
Amazon / Book Depository / Goodreads

Synopsis

For sixteen-year-old Charlotte Reynolds, aka Charlie, being raised by a single dad and three older brothers has its perks. She can outrun, outscore, and outwit every boy she knows—including her longtime neighbor and honorary fourth brother, Braden. But when it comes to being a girl, Charlie doesn’t know the first thing about anything. So when she starts working at chichi boutique to pay off a speeding ticket, she finds herself in a strange new world of makeup, lacy skirts, and BeDazzlers. Even stranger, she’s spending time with a boy who has never seen her tear it up in a pickup game.

To cope with the stress of faking her way through this new reality, Charlie seeks late-night refuge in her backyard, talking out her problems with Braden by the fence that separates them. But their Fence Chats can’t solve Charlie’s biggest problem: she’s falling for Braden. Hard. She knows what it means to go for the win, but if spilling her secret means losing him for good, the stakes just got too high.

I read this book in one sitting and honestly, I’m not even surprised I did. I think I have confessed my love for Kasie West ever since I read The Distance Between Us and I do have to thank a couple of blogger friends who kept on pushing me to read Kasie West’s novels, especially Dianne of Oops! I Read A Book Again. So, when I had the chance to visit the book store, I didn’t hesitate to buy this book.

I’m not sure which one I liked better but I love both books just the same, but I do have to say that I was able to easily relate to this one. It was also filled with tropes that I easily fall in love with, such as tomboy heroines, childhood friends turned lovers, big brothers, and sports!

“Sometimes we expect more that people are capable of giving at the moment.”

Charlie is now one of my ultimate favorite contemporary MC. I can definitely relate to her since I’m definitely a tomboy as well. Although I actually have sisters, instead of brothers, I still see myself clearly through her. It was like looking into the mirror. I definitely love her relationships with her brothers (I can’t pick a favorite though haha!) and with Braden. Being surrounded by men throughout her life, she had a bit of a trouble trying to get in touch with feminine side. Though, I don’t mind it, in fact I really did enjoy reading her. She’s like the epitome of a teenager trying to find herself.

Braden was definitely an enjoyable character. I love his quirks and his personality. It was so easy to fall in love with his character. I also love his sense of humor and his sweetness. It was fun to see how his relationship with Charlie blossomed from being platonic to romantic.

The pacing of the story was great, there was never a dull moment which made me finish the book easily. Kasie West’s writing style is a mix of light and drama. The balance among the emotions and the tone of the novel was amazing. The chemistry and dynamics of the character and the story was great too!

“We can’t let boys define how we feel about ourselves. You have to know who you are before you should let any boy worth anything in.”

Honestly, I would read this book over and over again but since this is only the second book I’ve read from Kasie West, I need to check out her other books especially Pivot Point and Split Second since I’ve heard amazing things about the series. This book though? 10/10 would recommend!

inahsign

Top Ten New-To-Me Authors for 2015

ttt

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish.

I did the same post almost a year ago. I remember having so much trouble picking my top ten. Hahaha! You can check them out here. For now, I’ll share my top ten for this year!

  1. Becky Albertalli – I loved her debut Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda! Becky is one of my favorite author friends and I love her more than I love coconut oreos!

2. Victoria Schwab – I was seriously blown away by A Darker Shade of Magic! It was the first book I read from her and now I’m looking forward to reading more from her!

3. Paula Stokes – Liars, Inc. was the first book I read from her and one of the best books I’ve read this year. I’ve been constantly looking for The Art of Lainey ever since!

4. Nicola Yoon – Her debut Everything, Everything was one of the best books I’ve read! Her writing style was so spot on I couldn’t even believe that was a debut! Haha!

5. Robin Benway – Emmy and Oliver is one of my ever favorites. I love the way Robin writes and her characters are so realistic.

6. Theresa Kay – Theresa is such an underrated author I SERIOUSLY NEED MORE PEOPLE TO KNOW ABOUT HER AND HER BOOKS! I loved Broken Skies and I’m enjoying Fractured Suns.

7-8. Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman – ILLUMINAE WAS SO  MINDBLOWING HOW??!!??!?!?!?!!?!?!1

9. Jennifer Niven – Jennifer is one of the sweetest authors I know and I love her even though she made me cry because of All the Bright Places.

10. Kasie West – HELLO CUTE SWOONWORTHY FLUFFY STORY. I’ve only read The Distance Between Us and I’m definitely going to read her other books! My friends have been pushing me to read her and when I finally did, I did not regret a single second of it.

So there! Here’s my top ten, who’s yours?

inahsign