Blog Tour || The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
Publication Date: February 28th 2017 by Balzer + Bray
Source: ARC from Publisher via Edelweiss
Rating: ★★★★★
Amazon / Book Depository

Synopsis

Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend, Khalil, at the hands of a police officer. Khalil was unarmed.

Soon afterward, Khalil’s death is a national headline. Some are calling him a thug, maybe even a drug dealer and a gangbanger. Starr’s best friend at school suggests he may have had it coming. When it becomes clear the police have little interest in investigating the incident, protesters take to the streets and Starr’s neighborhood becomes a war zone. What everyone wants to know is: What really went down that night? And the only person alive who can answer that is Starr.

But what Starr does—or does not—say could destroy her community. It could also endanger her life.

I received an ARC of this book from the Publisher. No compensation in any form was received for the review of this book.

This book is revolutionary. I’m honestly left without words. I don’t even need to pitch this book because I’m pretty sure it’s either you’ve already read it or it’s on top of your TBR pile. If you haven’t heard of this book, well, where were you in the past several months?

I feel like this review is going to be really short because I’m still speechless about this book. This is just going to be me, pushing the book to you.This book is inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement, and damn right it’s a great tale.

This book is inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement, and damn right it’s a great tale. I really enjoyed the story and the characters and their dynamics. Starr was relatable and a badass heroine. I love her relationship with her family. Her brothers are funny, and her parents are basically her OTP! She’s also close to her Uncle Carlos. The book practically contained 40% family relationships.

“It’s dope to be black until it’s hard to be black.”

It also explored interracial relationships and I really appreciated it. The Hate U Give opened my eyes and mind further when it comes to racial issues and the whole Black Lives Matter movement. I felt more educated about it and this is why this book is really important. Besides racism, it also tackled police violence and the criminal justice system.

This book has been making noise and has never left the spotlight since last year and it definitely deserved all the early praises and hype. Angie Thomas’s writing is thoughtful and genuine. She perfectly incorporated relevant social issues in a contemporary novel, which is something I’m definitely looking forward to reading more in the future. Honestly, if you haven’t read this book yet, please do!

ARC Review || By Your Side by Kasie West

By Your Side by Kasie West
Publication Date: January 31st 2017 by HarperTeen
Source: ARC From Publisher via Edelweiss
Rating★★★★★
Amazon / Book Depository

Synopsis

In this irresistible story, Kasie West explores the timeless question of what to do when you fall for the person you least expect. Witty and romantic, this paperback original from a fan favorite is perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson.

When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.

Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?

I received an ARC of this book from the Publisher. No compensation in any form was received for the review of this book.

I will love everything Kasie West will write. So far, I’ve read three books from her, including this one and I’m really looking forward to reading her other books!

Kasie West writes the best fluffy romances, we all know that and I dove into this book expecting the same level of fluff I got from The Distance Between Us and On The Fence. I didn’t get that here, but I was met with more relevant and important issues. Of course, the romance game was still on track but this book is more serious compared her other books and I love this kind of step-up.

Autumn has been struggling with anxiety and her friends have no idea about it. I don’t blame her, most of my friends does not know about mine either. I really connected with Autumn’s character. She’s so genuine and kind. Dax came off as a little obtuse and crass at first, but his character really grew on me and I really appreciated both characters’ development. Their romance was slow-burn and I loved how it played all throughout the book, plus points for their undeniable chemistry.

“Possibilities don’t hurt as much as realities. Possibilities are exciting and endless. Realities are final.”

I also enjoyed the relationship of Autumn and her family, especially with her brother Owen. The friendships in this book are strong too.

I really loved the whole “being stuck in the library with a cute guy” concept and this book immediately rose to the top of my TBR once I heard about the premise. I also appreciated that this book talked about mental illness and an absent family. See, while Autumn had a healthy relationship with her family, Dax had none. And I wish he had more closure with his family.

Most books deal with this issues too, but Kasie West’s writing made me really enjoy the whole experience because I was crying and laughing all the same throughout the book. There’s just something beautiful about her writing style that’s truly effective.

I just really enjoyed the fact that the conflicts were resolved properly and they weren’t too dragging. This book was crafted perfectly and I really recommend it!

Stacking the Shelves #28 || First Book Haul of the Year!

Hello! How’s everyone enjoying the first week of 2017 so far? It’s been a blast for me already! I’ve had the chance to see David Guetta on his tour, although I have to admit that I’m only familiar with his popular songs, but still it was fun! I’m also partnering up with Bookbed as a roomie (blog partner). I’m really excited for it!

Of course I got book mail/purchases that I’m super excited to show you today!

BOOKS BOUGHT/RECEIVED:

Just Listen by Sarah Dessen
Lock and Key by Sarah Dessen
A Bouquet of Love by Janice Thompson
The Kitchen When It Sizzles by Chrissie Peria
The Statistical Probability of Love At First Sight (UK Cover) by Jennifer E. Smith
Geek Girl by Holly Smale
The Boyfriend Backtrack by Dawn Lanuza (Signed)
The Hometown Hazard by Dawn Lanuza (Signed)
What About Today by Dawn Lanuza (Signed)
If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo
Dirty Thoughts by Megan Erickson

FOR REVIEW:

#famous by Jilly Gagnon
Radio Silence by Alice Oseman
Geekerella by Ashley Poston
Freeks by Amanda Hocking
In the Hope of Memories by Olivia Rivers
The Impossible Fortress by Jason Rekulak

Thanks to HarperCollins International, St. Martin’s Press, Quirk Books, and Simon and Schuster for the review copies. To Dawn Lanuza, thanks for being game to sign the books! I really can’t wait to read this lot!

I hope the first weekend of 2017 is treating you well!

Stacking the Shelves #27 || The Cheapskate Edition

stacking

I’m back with a book haul!! For the past few weeks, bookstores were truly busy blessing us with cut-off prices and discounts so, obviously I had to check them out. Not to mention a casual trip to the local book thrift store, Booksale.

These are the titles I got for the past month.

sts 27

Books Bought / Received:

Adorkable by Sara Manning
More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera
Consider by Kristy Acevedo
Wherever You Go by Heather Davis
All Our Yesterdays by Christine Terrill
The Shadow Queen by C.J. Redwine
Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
How To Hang A Witch by Adriana Mather
Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum
Prom Queen Perfect by Clarisse David
The Last Time I’ll Write About You by Dawn Lanuza

For Review:

Little Monsters by Kara Thomas
By Your Side by Kasie West
Girl in the Picture by Alexandra Monir
A List of Cages by Robin Roe
Alterations by Stephanie Scott
Infinity by Jus Accardo
We Are Still Tornadoes by Michael Kun and Susan Mullen
Textrovert by Lindsey Summers
A Promdi’s Guide to Self-Discovery by Rhea Gonzales

I got Gemina and More Happy Than Not from National Bookstore’s Cut-off price sale last month. Then last weekend, Fully Booked Trinoma was on sale so I got Wherever You Go and All Our Yesterdays for PHP50 (1 dollar) each! I also scored Adorkable from Booksale. I got Consider from Naz of Read Diverse Books‘ giveaway. I also got some e-books that went on sale like How To Hang A Witch and Tell Me Three Things (that I had to reread because it’s sooooo awesome!!

Huge thanks to National Bookstore and Fully Booked for spoiling us with your awesome discounts! Also to Penguin Random House International for Little Monsters, that I read already because I just had to! Thank you also to HarperCollins, Bloomsbury, Disney-Hyperion, St. Martin’s Griffin, Entangled Teen, Kids Can Press, and Ms. Rhea Gonzales for the review copies. Also to Kai of Amaterasu Reads and Kate of The Bookaholic Blurbs for The Shadow Queen! They’ll be keeping me company as I read my way to Christmas season!

LIFE UPDATES

I AM SEEING COLDPLAY ON APRIL! I’m so lucky to have scored tickets for their first (and probably last) Manila show! I’ve been a huge fan of them since 2004 so imagine how happy I am right now! My friend and I lined up an hour before the mall opened last Thursday just to secure tickets for the show. When the mall opened, everyone was running to the ticket counter (which was on the third floor, so that was a good exercise haha). Good thing, my friend was secretly Barry Allen so he was second in line. It was definitely a nerve-wracking experience because the servers were super slow due to the huge traffic the ticket site was getting but with patience, we were able to buy tickets!

img_7580

I also attended the nationwide protest against the late dictator-president Marcos last night. In case you didn’t know, Marcos declared Martial Law in the Philippines in 1972 basically to stay in power. During that time, there were a lot of cases of human rights violations, some resulting to death. In 1986, Marcos was overthrown from the presidency, the People Power Revolution. Last night was definitely eye-opening, inspiring and fun overall. Martial Law victims were present and some of them shared their stories. Some bands and artists performed too. It was a successful peaceful protest and it was so great to see the youth and the elders gather and unify for a common goal. Hopefully, the government will acknowledge us.

This week was definitely full of events. I can’t wait to hear about yours! Tell me something cool that happened to you this week!

inah