Stacking the Shelves #30

I’ve been really busy for months that I often forget to post my book hauls here. The last one I did was back in February so this is going to be a massive one.

LOCAL BOOKS HAULED:

Dare To Love by C.P. Santi
Keep The Faith by Ana Tejano
Playing Autumn by Mina V. Esguerra
Sounds Like Summer by Six Delos Reyes
If The Dress Fits by Carla de Guzman
Smaller and Smaller Circles by F.H. Batacan
Summer Crush by Six Delos Reyes, Tara Frejas, and Jay E. Tria

ARCS HAULED:

The Secret History of Us by Jessi Kirby
This Is How It Happened by Paula Stokes
Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy
Like Water by Rebecca Podos
Optimists Die First by Susin Nielsen
Windfall by Jennifer E. Smith
The One of Us Is Lying by Karen McManus
Antisocial by Jillian Blake
Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley
Welcome Home by Eric Smith
What To Say Next by Julie Buxbaum
The Names They Gave Us by Emery Lord
When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

FROM GIVEAWAYS:

Blacksouls by Nicole Castroman
The Inconceivable Life of Quinn by Marianna Baer
The Creeping by Alexandra Sirowy
A Psalm for Lost Girls by Katie Bayerl

BOOKS BOUGHT:

History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera
I Was Here by Gayle Forman
Pivot Point by Kasie West
Split Second by Kasie West

I have also received some signed bookmarks from Kara Thomas and Jay Kristoff (Thanks Kate! <3)

Now that I’m finally finishing college (just waiting for graduation this month!!) I can finally have more time to read so I do hope I could squeeze these in before I go on a job hunt haha!

As usual, big thanks to HarperCollins International, Abrams Books, Penguin Random House International, Simon Pulse, Bloomsbury, #romanceclass authors, Katie and Marianna, JM of Book Freak Revelations, Kate of The Bookaholic Blurbs and Jay Kristoff, Kara Thomas, Nicole Castroman, and Rebecca Podos!

Which books did you get this week? Have you read any of these books? Let me know!

Pique Beyond Week || The Romantics by Leah Konen (ARC Review)

Abrams Books’ launched a new YA website called Pique Beyond! Pique is all about going beyond the book. Not only do they highlight exclusive excerpts and quotes from new and upcoming books, but they peel back the cover and show us the behind-the-scenes stuff: how books are made, what the authors were thinking, and how it all comes together. This week, they’re highlighting all of their newest titles, and let me tell you, they look amazing. Visit the site today at piquebeyond.com or follow them on Twitter and Instagram at @piquebeyond! Today, I’m sharing a title from Abrams Books that I really enjoyed reading!

the-romanticsThe Romantics by Leah Konen
Publication Date: November 1st, 2016 by Amulet Books
Source: ARC from Publisher via Netgalley
Rating: ★★★★
Amazon / Book Depository

Synopsis

Perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and Rainbow Rowell, The Romantics will charm readers of all ages.

Gael Brennan is about to have his heart broken when his first big relationship crumbles on the heels of his parents’ painful separation. Love intervenes with the intention of setting things right—but she doesn’t anticipate the intrusion of her dreaded nemesis: the Rebound. Love’s plans for Gael are sidetracked by Cara, Gael’s hot-sauce-wielding “dream girl.” The more Love meddles, the further Gael drifts from the one girl who can help him mend his heart. Soon Love starts breaking all her own rules—and in order to set Gael’s fate back on course, she has to make some tough decisions about what it means to truly care.

I received an ARC of this book from the Publisher. No compensation in any form was received for the review of this book.

It’s true that this book will charm readers of all ages. And this book got me out of my reading slump. From the first chapter, I got hooked already because of the wit and sass of the narrator.

See, this book is about love and is narrated by Love itself so it got really funny and quirky, yet serious at the same time which is why I loved it so much.

“Real love makes you better than you ever know you could be.”

Gael Brennan is a total romantic. I think readers can pick it up early on and I really found it adorable. Romantics are my kind of people because I am one too, although I could say that I’m sort of cynical from time to time. When he got his heart broken, Love helped him but as Love meddled, some things got out of hand as The Rebound came in the picture.

The narration is one of my favorite aspects of the book. It’s so on point and hilarious! This book is like watching your favorite romantic-comedy movie, snuggled under covers while eating popcorn or drinking cocoa or whatever your favorite beverage is. This book is exactly the one you should read on a Friday night when you just want to chill.

“Romantic love is one thing, but the love between a parent and a child—well, that is always worth fighting for.”

I also enjoyed how this book celebrated different kinds of love: from romantic, platonic, familial, and even pragmatic. I love contemporary books that not only focuses on romance but also, does not shy away from friendships and family relationships. Honestly, this book reminded me of a lot of YA contemps that I read and rom-coms that I watched before, so I think I’m probably going to catch some flicks or two because this book left me wanting more love stories!

So listen, this book needs to be read by any contemporary lovers out there. It’s full of cliches but it was presented amazingly, in a way that will make readers agree and realize that cliches aren’t as bad as we all think. Besides, don’t we all get a little bit cliche when it comes to love?  I’m definitely impressed with Leah Konen’s writing style and I’m sure as hell looking forward to more of her works in the future!

inah