ARC Review + Playlist: Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyck

arrowsbanner

9780553510447_4a3d6

Title: Arrows
Author: Melissa Gorzelanczyck
Publication Date: January 26th 2016 by Delacorte Press
Rating:★★★★
Amazon / Book Depository / Goodreads

Synopsis

A modern cupid story set in present-day Wisconsin combining the fantastical elements of Greek mythology with the contemporary drama of MTV’s Teen Mom.

People don’t understand love. If they did, they’d get why dance prodigy Karma Clark just can’t say goodbye to her boyfriend, Danny. No matter what he says or does or how he hurts her, she can’t stay angry with him . . . and can’t stop loving him. But there’s a reason why Karma is helpless to break things off: she’s been shot with a love arrow.

Aaryn, son of Cupid, was supposed to shoot both Karma andDanny but found out too late that the other arrow in his pack was useless. And with that, Karma’s life changed forever. One pregnancy confirmed. One ballet scholarship lost. And dream after dream tossed to the wind.

A clueless Karma doesn’t know that her toxic relationship is Aaryn’s fault . . . but he’s going to get a chance to make things right. He’s here to convince Danny to man up and be there for Karma. But what if this god from Mount Olympus finds himself falling in love with a beautiful dancer from Wisconsin who can never love him in return?

This fast-paced debut novel explores the internal & external conflicts of a girl who finds herself inexplicably drawn to a boy who seemingly doesn’t reciprocate her feelings, touching on the issues of love, sex and responsibility, with a heroine struggling to control her destiny–perfect for fans of Katie McGarry’s novels and MTV’s 16 and Pregnant.

I received an ARC of this book from the publisher in exchange of a review. No compensation in any form was received for the review of this book.

My love for Greek Mythology was one of the main reasons why I picked up this book. The synopsis was really catchy and interesting. Upon reading the first page, I knew I wasn’t going to be able to put this down. Next thing I knew, an hour has passed and I’m around halfway through!

I haven’t read any Katie McGarry books nor watched MTV’s 16 and Pregnant, but I felt an instant connection to the book.

This tells the story of Aaryn, Eros’ son, who was tasked to be a matchmaker for Karma and Danny, but with the last arrow ending up useless, he changed Karma’s life.

That’s the thing about guilt. You don’t want your secrets exposed, but the guilt keeps you up at night. The guilt changes who you are and throws you into a dark corner.

Aaryn seemed pretty easy-going and I felt connected to his character quickly. Well, as the God of Love’s son, him being sweet and easy to love is pretty much given. Karma is a talented ballerina, who got pregnant and had a complicated relationship with Danny, who’s the father of her child. Karma is a strong lady. I think it’s a very innate trait of being a mother. She’s really admirable and sweet too. Although, I get annoyed sometimes by her constant tolerance with Danny being a shithead, I do understand that a major part of that was because of Aaryn’s arrow.

The chemistry between Aaryn and Karma was built up really well. The romance, as predictable as it may seem, wasn’t forced and it was fun to see them get attracted to each other because it wasn’t insta-love. Actually, I’m good with them either being friends or lovers. It was a very balanced chemistry but I do admit Aaryn got me swooning most of the time because the guy is really charming. it must have been the genes.

“Sometimes we all need to start over and connect with who we really are.”

The other characters were okay. I loved Peyton, although I do admit she kind of felt like a side-character. I didn’t have issues with some of the characters being flat as I didn’t really mind them, except Peyton I guess since she’s easy to love.

The pacing of the story, and the writing were excellent. I got hooked from the first page and I really had a great time reading this book. It’s balanced with drama, romance, and humor. I guess it’s perfect as a Valentine’s read! I definitely recommend this book! Great debut and I’m really looking forward to the author’s upcoming books!

PLAYLIST

ABOUT MELISSA GORZELANCZYCK

melissa gorzelanczyckMelissa Gorzelanczyk is a former magazine editor and columnist who believes love is everything. She is a proud member of the SCBWI, The Sweet Sixteens and the Class of 2k16. She lives in Green Bay, Wisconsin, with her husband and family.

Author Links: Website / Goodreads / Twitter / Facebook

FOLLOW THE REST OF THE TOUR HERE.

 

GIVEAWAY

a Rafflecopter giveawayinahsign

One thought on “ARC Review + Playlist: Arrows by Melissa Gorzelanczyck

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge