Fans of the Impossible Life by Kate Scelsa

fans of the impossible lifeTitle: Fans of the Impossible Life
Author: Kate Scelsa
Publication Date: September 8th 2015 by Balzer + Bray
Rating: ★★★
Amazon // Book Depository // Goodreads

Synopsis

A captivating and profound debut novel about complicated love and the friendships that have the power to transform you forever, perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

Mira is starting over at Saint Francis Prep. She promised her parents she would at least try to pretend that she could act like a functioning human this time, not a girl who can’t get out of bed for days on end, who only feels awake when she’s with Sebby.

Jeremy is the painfully shy art nerd at Saint Francis who’s been in self-imposed isolation after an incident that ruined his last year of school. When he sees Sebby for the first time across the school lawn, it’s as if he’s been expecting this blond, lanky boy with mischief glinting in his eye.

Sebby, Mira’s gay best friend, is a boy who seems to carry sunlight around with him. Even as life in his foster home starts to take its toll, Sebby and Mira together craft a world of magic rituals and impromptu road trips, designed to fix the broken parts of their lives.

As Jeremy finds himself drawn into Sebby and Mira’s world, he begins to understand the secrets that they hide in order to protect themselves, to keep each other safe from those who don’t understand their quest to live for the impossible.

First of all, I want to say that I wasn’t actually in the mood when I was reading this book. In case you all don’t know, I’m a moody reader. I tend to put down books because of two reasons: either I’m not in the mood for it, or I have completely lost interest in the book. However, I’m glad to say I didn’t put this book down. Not even once, did I think of reading another book. I knew this book has a great potential, and I’m glad that despite the fact that this book didn’t totally rock my world, I still enjoyed reading it.

I loved the variety in the narrations. The three main characters had different POV narrations which made the book stand out and emphasize the different voices of the characters. Jeremy was written in the first person, Sebby in second, and Mira in third.

“May we live impossibly,” Sebby said when he opened his eyes. “Against all odds. May people look at us and wonder how such jewels can sparkle in the sad desert of the world. May we live the impossible life.”

Jeremy was a bit antisocial and soft-spoken. He’s an artist who became friends with Mira, the nice but funny and sometimes snarky one, and Sebby, the ever funny and charming queer, when they joined the Art Club that he organized with the aid of his teacher, who came off as a pretty cool one, Peter. From there, Jeremy, Mira and Sebby became inseparable. I loved the complexities of their characters, and the way that they balance each other out. It brought a different kind of depth in their friendship.

I loved that this book is very LGBT and sex positive. It also dealt with issues such as identity crisis, substance abuse, depression, bullying, and a lot of other relevant social issues. It makes me really happy when issues like these are tackled in YA books because it raises people’s awareness. Moreover, it raises awareness of young minds.

I was a bit bored in the first parts but I managed to get through and finish the book because of the message it left. It also made me a little confused with some of the situations and scenes in the book. Nonetheless, for me this book is a gem. Even though I gave this book an average rating, this book was a one-of-a-kind coming of age novel  and I do believe that other people would be able to appreciate this more than I did.

inahsign

Written by

A 22 year old bibliophile from the outskirts of Manila, who loves reading books for passion.

2 comments / Add your comment below

  1. I’m really glad that you could look past the scenes that didn’t make sense to you for the overall message! And the fact that it’s LGBT and sex positive is great :) Have you read Perks of a Wallflower? Is it really similar to this? Because it seems similar just from the synopsis, but that might just be because of marketing.

    I’m not super huge on contemporary at the moment, and I have seen many mixed reviews for this. I can’t say that I’m SUPER interested in it, but maybe one day I will pick this up!

    Awesome review Inah!
    Valerie recently posted…ARC Review: Steam Blog Tour + GiveawayMy Profile

    1. I have read Perks, and now that you have mentioned it, yeah it’s a bit similar but not so much that would make me compare the books to each other. They’re both coming of age novels, set on different decades haha. Thanks Val! <3

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge