All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

all the bright places

Title:  All The Bright Places
Author: Jennifer Niven
Publication Date: January 6th 2015 by Knopf
Rating:★★★★★
Amazon // B&N // Book Depository // Goodreads

Synopsis

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

Inah’s Thoughts

I love this book. I’ve been on the look out for this book since I saw it on Netgalley but unfortunately I was declined. Months later, I was able to buy a copy and was able to finally read it. My friends have been very insisting that I read this book. And I’m glad I did.

All the Bright Places is heartbreaking, poignant, funny and heartfelt. It’s told in two POVs. Finch and Violet. Violet and Finch. Two different personalities brought together by one incident.

The characters of the story are very interesting to read. They’re multidimensional and it’s nice to see them grow. Theodore Finch was kind of this happy-go-lucky guy. He’s pretty adventurous, sassy, smart, gentle, adorable, funny guy but almost everyone calls him Theodore Freak. Violet Markey used to be a cheerleader and a student council officer. She used to be a lot of things but everything changed since Eleanor died in the accident. She became quiet, shy and a bit awkward when it comes to people and crowds but she learned to be herself again and be comfortable with others in the company of Finch.

“The thing I realize is, that it’s not what you take, it’s what you leave.”

This book is cruel because it made me cry lots of tears. But I tell you this, it’s written beautifully. It’s raw, relatable and brutally honest and I love it. It deals about grief and losing someone in the process. It deals about mental illness, which is a very sensitive topic and I picked up a of new angles to look at it. This book also deals about friendship, family and romance; about finding oneself and starting over; about happiness and all the bright places; about living your life the way you want to live.

I guess I cried all my feels for this book because I’m out of words. In case you haven’t read this yet, please do.

Jem’s Thoughts

I have mixed emotions upon reading this book. I am happy, and sad at the same time.

I bleed for Finch who believed he had no choice. For his circumstance, for thinking he has no one to share his experience with (or for not wanting to share it). I am angry to his sad excuse for parents, to judgmental bullies, and to him for not holding on.

I bleed for Violet, for losing her sister. For blaming herself for her sister and Finch’s death, for thinking she’s not enough to make Finch stay, for being left twice.

“You have been in every way all that anyone could be.… If anybody could have saved me it would have been you.”

I am happy they found solace within each other for a time. I am happy they found an epic love, a love full of grand gestures, a love that changed them both.

This a very good read, but is just too sad for me. And I didn’t understand Finch half the time, but I still liked him and I loved how he loves violet.

Violet is very strong, especially as she faced the 5 stages of grief, not once but twice, because that’s just too much for a lifetime.

signboth

Written by

A 22 year old bibliophile from the outskirts of Manila, who loves reading books for passion.

8 comments / Add your comment below

  1. I know this book is going to break my heart, as it broke many others. I remember seeing so many tweets with their crying faces with this book O_O which is my number one reason why I am still so hesitant to read it. I’m not sure I’m ready for the intense emotions it will inevitably give me. It’s the kind I’d read when I’m in the mood for it, but mark my words, I will eventually read this one day :D
    Faye le Potato recently posted…Review: Ruthless by Carolyn Lee Adams – Woods + Psycho on the loose = TERRORMy Profile

    1. I can’t wait for you to read this one, Faye! Hopefully, you’ll love it as well! :D

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge