Denton Little’s Deathdate by Lance Rubin

denton's little deathdate

Title: Denton Little’s Deathdate
Author: Lance Rubin
Publication Date: March 26th 2015 by Simon & Schuster UK
Rating: ★★★★
Amazon // B&N // Book Depository // Goodreads

Follow the rest of the tour here.

Synopsis

Fans of John Green and Matthew Quick: Get ready to die laughing.

Denton Little’s Deathdate takes place in a world exactly like our own except that everyone knows the day they will die. For 17-year-old Denton Little, that’s tomorrow, the day of his senior prom.

Despite his early deathdate, Denton has always wanted to live a normal life, but his final days are filled with dramatic firsts. First hangover. First sex. First love triangle (as the first sex seems to have happened not with his adoring girlfriend, but with his best friend’s hostile sister. Though he’s not totally sure. See: first hangover.) His anxiety builds when he discovers a strange purple rash making its way up his body. Is this what will kill him? And then a strange man shows up at his funeral, claiming to have known Denton’s long-deceased mother, and warning him to beware of suspicious government characters…. Suddenly Denton’s life is filled with mysterious questions and precious little time to find the answers.

Debut author Lance Rubin takes us on a fast, furious, and outrageously funny ride through the last hours of a teenager’s life as he searches for love, meaning, answers, and (just maybe) a way to live on.

Reading this book was such a whirlwind and I enjoyed every single spin. It made such a sensitive topic, death, really hilarious. The first time I saw this book, it definitely got my attention.

The concept of the story is pretty cool. For someone who’s dying tomorrow, Denton Little takes it well. This book is literally wild from start to finish. A lot of things were happening and sometimes I couldn’t keep track of them. Still, that exhilarating feeling of reading this book made gave me a really enjoyable experience.

Denton’s character was really interesting. I loved his sense of humor. His relationship with his family was good, but as his death date came close, he learned some things that made some of his relationship with them shift a bit drastically.

“Life works in strange ways sometimes.”

Paolo was the most adorable and funniest as heck, BFF I’ve read for this year. I seriously need a Paolo in my life to keep me on track. I loved his character so much, it would take me a jiffy to defend him.

Some things got weird though. Like that strange purple rash, and the secret government officials on the lookout for him. One second, I’m laughing out loud, and then all of a sudden I’m all kinds of nervous for Denton. The ending nearly killed me. I don’t know if I liked it or not but the book was seriously funny as heck that I overlooked it. I’m really excited for the sequel because like Denton, I do have loads of questions.

“Days are more fun when any one could be the day you die.”

Overall, I’m glad I read this book. It’s one of those books you need to read when you’re feeling down. It’s thought-provoking, a bit poignant and presents a fresh perspective to life and death.

inahsign

Written by

A 22 year old bibliophile from the outskirts of Manila, who loves reading books for passion.

2 comments / Add your comment below

    1. OMG yes!! How could I forget Colin and Hassan! They’re totally like Denton and Paolo. I can’t wait for you to read this, Miguel!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge