The Glass Arrow by Kristen Simmons

the glass arrow

Title: The Glass Arrow
Author: Kristen Simmons
Publication Date: February 10th 2015 by Tor Teen
Rating:★★★★★
Amazon // B&N // Book Depository // Goodreads

Synopsis

The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group of women on the run from the men who hunt them, men who want to auction off breeding rights to the highest bidder.

In a world where females are scarce and are hunted, then bought and sold at market for their breeding rights, 15-year old Aya has learned how to hide. With a ragtag bunch of other women and girls, she has successfully avoided capture and eked out a nomadic but free existence in the mountains. But when Aya’s luck runs out and she’s caught by a group of businessmen on a hunting expedition, fighting to survive takes on a whole new meaning.

I’ve heard a lot of great things about this book so I wasn’t really surprised when I found myself liking it.I loved it, actually! It’s my first time to read Kristen Simmons’s work and I’m very glad I did.

The Glass Arrow was such an enthralling, captivating and exciting read. I was hooked upon reading the first page. The intensity of the plot was one of the major factors that drawn me closer to the book. I also love how the author created the society in this book. It really fueled up my imagination.

“What’s a glass arrow?” she asks without turning around.
I sit back on my heels.
“It’s just a story my ma would tell.”

I admire Aya, the main character, and her personality. She’s kind, strong-willed, smart and fearless. If I was somehow thrown into the story, I’d have the same viewpoint with her with regards to women being sold as property.

I loved the chemistry between Aya and Kiran. Kiran was sort of a mysterious type but I really liked him because he’s smart and kind as well. I loved the connection between them and how they seemed to understand each other even though he was a mute. (Highlight to view SPOILER: But it turns out he wasn’t actually mute and he’s got a pretty hot accent) and I found it adorable.

“But if trust was a thing you could hold in your hand, I would give mine to you. I’d let you have it forever and never ask for it back.”

Daphne’s character was surprising. I didn’t like her at first but she grew on me. Thanks to her amazing character arc.

Overall, I think this book would appeal to fans of Sarah J. Maas, Pierce Brown and fantasy/dystopian fans in general. The story was great, the characters were amazing. The world-building was spot on! The chemistry and romance between the characters was perfect. I would totally recommend this book!

“There are bigger things in life than being chosen.”

Thanks to Dianne and Pinoy Book Tours for lending me a copy of this book!inahsign

 

Written by

A 22 year old bibliophile from the outskirts of Manila, who loves reading books for passion.

1 comment / Add your comment below

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge