Liars, Inc. by Paula Stokes (ARC)

liars inc

Title: Liars, Inc.
Author: Paula Stokes
Publication Date: March 24th 2015 by HarperTeen
Rating: ★★★★★
Amazon // B&N // Book Depository // Goodreads

Synopsis

For fans of Gone Girl, I Hunt Killers, and TV’s How to Get Away with Murder.

Max Cantrell has never been a big fan of the truth, so when the opportunity arises to sell forged permission slips and cover stories to his classmates, it sounds like a good way to make a little money and liven up a boring senior year. With the help of his friends Preston and Parvati, Max starts Liars, Inc. Suddenly everybody needs something and the cash starts pouring in. Who knew lying could be so lucrative?

When Preston wants his own cover story to go visit a girl he met online, Max doesn’t think twice about hooking him up. Until Preston never comes home. Then the evidence starts to pile up—terrifying clues that lead the cops to Preston’s body. Terrifying clues that point to Max as the murderer.

Can Max find the real killer before he goes to prison for a crime he didn’t commit? In a story that Kirkus Reviews called “Captivating to the very end,” Paula Stokes starts with one single white lie and weaves a twisted tale that will have readers guessing until the explosive final chapters.

Inah’s Thoughts

During the last few weeks, I’ve been so attached to legal/crime dramas that were recently on air, such as How To Get Away With Murder, Suits and The Fall. Even with my favorite TV Show, Supernatural, with the main characters impersonating federal agents sometimes to help their case. I was very much fascinated with these kinds of shows, now that I’m older, which means my preferences grew more mature. I am very much glad to say that if you’re a fan of those TV shows, you’re most definitely going to love this book.

I haven’t read a lot of crime/suspense/thriller novel, much alone a YA one so this certainly blew my mind! This is actually the first one I’ve read from Paula Stokes and she really delivered. I loved the way she writes, from the dynamic characters to the compelling plot. It most certainly left me hanging with every chapter so I literally devoured this book because I kept on wanting more. Fortunately, this book delivered so well.

“Everybody lies. You might as well get paid.”

I am not going to tell much about the plot because I’m afraid I might ruin the experience for you. I would give you one thing though, it all started with one lie and everything went south.

The characters were written in a way that would somehow give the readers doubts about them. Yup, I even have doubts about Max, the main character, at one point of the story. It drove me crazy in a good way which definitely kept me reading.

The plot was driving, intense, insane, wicked and exciting. I’ve never felt such rush of excitement from the books I have read this year until I’ve read this one. The experience I got from reading this book was unforgettable. I’ve got quite WTF moments (in a really really good way) and I’m pretty sure you lot will too, when you get to read this so I’ll tell you one thing:

GET A COPY OF THIS BOOK AS SOON AS POSSIBLE AND START READING.

Jem’s Thoughts

Reading this book feels like a sort of a comeback to me because I’d been on a reading hiatus, I’d been kind of off lately because I DIDN’T GET TO GO TO Ed Sheeran’s concert, amongst other things.

Well, I am trying really hard not to mention any spoilers because who in their right minds would spoil suspense thriller/murder mystery books? :)) In this light, I would just be giving an overview of what to expect.

First, be ready to be reeled in by a very likeable protagonist, Max. He is caring, and very loyal, and practical, and sweet, and most of all forgiving. He loves deeply, and I just love the way he loves. I believe that Parvati and his family is lucky to be part of his life.

Second, get ready for his friends, Parvati and Preston, both are rich, with a slightly twisted perspective of life. Both are a little bit shady, if I may say so.

“When you care about someone so much that you’ll do anything – even stupid or destructive things – to protect them.”

“That sounds more like mental illness than love.”

Third, get ready for the unexpected twists and turns that may tempt you to go to the end and read what happened, but please don’t, you won’t enjoy it as much. :))

Fourth, THE ENDING OMG

This book started good then it just became better and better and better so you had to read faster and faster until the last page of the book. There is this urgency to know what happened or what’s next or did someone die? That’s the thing about suspense thrillers, it demands to be read.. and fast. Speaking of the ending, wow, just wow, it was amazing! I’m a sucker for great endings!

This book is a perfect mixture of light and dark, and confusing, and compelling, with a lil’ bit’ sprinkle of sweet. It was a great read, and I loved it.

signboth

 

Written by

A 22 year old bibliophile from the outskirts of Manila, who loves reading books for passion.

2 comments / Add your comment below

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge